our mission

What is Open Scholar?

Open Scholar C.I.C. is a not-for-profit organisation whose activities, assets and profits are dedicated to the purpose of providing benefit to the scientific community. Our mision is to develop ideas and tools that promote open and transparent scientific collaboration for a faster, more efficient and natural organisation, evaluation and dissemination of global knowledge.

an open organisation

Organisation and governance

Open Scholar C.I.C. is a Community Interest Company founded in 2012 and incorporated in England & Wales as a company limited by guarantee with company number 08129292. The registered office address is:

Open Scholar C.I.C.
The Stables Business Centre
Suite 4
Castleland Street
Vale of Glamorgan
CF63 4LL
Wales – UK

The formal governance of Open Scholar C.I.C. is provided by a working team of volunteers in collaboration with the organisation’s members.

We are a project-based group. We run different parallel projects and each member of the team is free to decide where, when and how to contribute. Our common vision is summarised in the journal-independent peer review manifesto, and all projects are somehow related to this collective goal.

However, we welcome diversity and invite all scholars interested in promoting openness and transparency in scientific collaboration to join us, share their vision, propose new projects, and help us reach wide consensus on how to shape the academia that science deserves.

Interested scholars can join us by filling out our contact form, including brief information about their affiliation and motivation. While membership is free, Open Scholar members are expected to meet a minimum list of requirements and have the right to join the working team, propose new ideas, and participate in all important decisions regarding the organisation’s policies and future directions. 

Our Working Team

Pandelis Perakakis

Clinical Psychology

Alberto Pascual

Theoretical Biology

Daniel Sanabria

Experimental Psychology

Luis González MacDowell

Chemical Physics

Vasilis Dakos

Theoretical ecology

Varvara Trachana

Molecular Biology

Michael Bon

Biological Physics

Thomas Arildsen

Data science

Gary McDowell